I Must Not Fear NO

Have No Fear

I must not fear no but embrace it.  Every no does, indeed, get me closer to a Yes.  Why is this so difficult to remember sometimes?

I’m sitting in one of my “café/offices” this morning.  There’s a proud Dad bragging that his kids first word is yes, not no.  This is surprising news to many in the café.  It is usually the first word we get command of, isn’t it?  Well, mostly because our parents have to protect us from our own naïve curiosity about this whole new world we landed in.  We hear no a great deal initially.  However at that point it does not stop us.

I could write an entertaining novel about rejection slips, but I fear it would be overly long.” – Louise Brown

However, it feels like, right when released from the need to have our care takers tell us no, we pick right up where they leave off.  We tell ourselves no.  Again, it is typically thought to be for our own well-being & safety.  We are the boss of protecting us now!  However, this No word is given way too much power.  We can spend weeks, years & sadly lifetimes No-ing ourselves in to never stepping outside of our comfort zones which is where all the fun is after we pass this uncomfortable threshold.  I have to remind myself of this often.  This week even.

Yes!

I sometimes imagine that had I not have been blessed with so much rejection in my life, I’d be paralyzed by no.  I might give no too much importance.  I might try my darndest to avoid hearing no at all.  Accepting & collecting no’s as I head towards Yes seems to work great for me.

What do you do to battle &/or overcome fear of rejection or not wanting to hear no?

A rose can say I love you and want you to be m...

3 thoughts on “I Must Not Fear NO

  1. Lady M says:

    Right on time, as always! Those no’s really can get the best of me at times, but thankful for every single one that has been given. All the work that I put in for no, will give me the right to say YES to whatever I freakin’ want later!

  2. Nice! So you mean letting the no’s just go until you get to not just yes but also picking and choosing. Is that what you’re saying?

Leave a Reply

